Benzema won the Ballon d’Or 2022. Alexia Putellas is the women’s football award winner

France Football’s annual Ballon d’Or trophy went to Karim Benzema, while the Ballon d’Or Féminin version went to Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas for the second year running.

Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema was awarded the Champions League Player of the Season 2021-2022 after winning the competition with Real Madrid. In the 2021-2022 season, Benzema also contributed to winning the Spanish championship which had great odds on Melbet apps, the Spanish Super Cup and the European Super Cup.

The award was given for the first time based on performance over a season, rather than a calendar year – this year’s ceremony being moved due to the upcoming World Cup in Qatar that will be available to watch live on the LineBet app.

The winner of the Kopa Trophy, awarded to the best player under 21, is Catalan Gavi in 2022, while the Yashin Trophy, which rewards the best goalkeeper, went to Belgian Thibaut Courtois, the goalkeeper who won Real Madrid’s 14th European Champions League in a player-of-the-match final in the summer.

The Gerd Muller Trophy, awarded by France Football to the season’s top scorer, went to Poland’s Robert Lewandowski, who scored 57 goals last season, including 50 in 46 games for Bayern Munich. He wins the top scorer award for the second consecutive season.

Sadio Mane, Bayern Munich and Senegal striker, is the inaugural winner of the Socrates Trophy, awarded for humanitarian contributions.

Manchester City the top favourite on 22bet was named winner of the award for best club of the year.

The decision is based on City having the most individual nominations in the six categories, including Lucy Bronze in women’s football.

Liverpool came second. Real Madrid finished third.

Cristiano Ronaldo, nominated for the 18th consecutive season, finished 20th in the 2022 voting – disappointing by his standards, but better than his lifelong rival Lionel Messi, who didn’t make the top 30 list of nominated players.

Chelsea legend Didier Drogba, a former Ivory Coast international, hosted the evening, alongside Sandy Heribert, co-host of the celebrations.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply