Opening match of the eagerly-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022

Only a few weeks left before the opening match of the eagerly-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. Like to point out that this season eight teams, as always, will represent their cities in the Twenty20 format. The event is scheduled for March 26-29. So bettors have enough time not just to understand some basic rules of this Cricket championship, but also for the team’s motivation checking and lineups.

Due to the current rules, all the matches use TV timeouts without any time limits to complete the innings. However, the arbiters can set a penalty if one of the teams will abuse this time privilege. Here two teams compete against each other to score more points than the other. Each of them plays an equal number of innings and the team with the most runs at the bottom of the inning wins. But for enhanced understanding of the event features, it’s better to read also some more information:

  1. Each team should have 18-25 players (that’s much more than in a typical Cricket team, where every team consists of 11 players).
  2. There are 150 seconds of so-called «strategic time-out» during each inning (between the 6th and 9th, and other between the 13th and 16th overs).
  3. All the teams have a great opportunity to review the referee’s decision on the field (one per inning).
  4. Before the matches start two captains toss a coin to determine which team will bat first!

All participants of the tournament will be divided into 2 virtual groups to decide which team will play with whom. There will be taken into account how many participants became IPL champions, as well as the number of exits to the final of the competition.

The schedule of the tournament and the list of its participants are already known. Here you can see the current champion Chennai Super Kings and many other famous names (Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, etc.). They all will compete for the main prize of the tournament – a bit more than 20 Crore Rupees (it’s almost USD 2 597 254,00). The runners-up team will get 13 Crore rupees and the price for the team that finishes third – 7 Crore rupees. Also, there is a special price for the team that finishes fourth, it will receive 6.5 Crore rupees.

The division of groups will not affect the procedure of reaching the playoffs of the tournament. There is a single table of points for ten teams. Those participants who manage to score the most points and take the first four places in the standings will go to the playoffs.

Meanwhile, the teams that take the first 2 places in the point table will have two chances to reach the finals, as they will play in qualifying games 1 and 2, the teams that take the 3rd and 4th places will play in the elimination round.

The winners of the tournament will be able to receive one of the announced prizes. The leading batsman wears an orange cap during games (whole season). Also, there is a Purple Cup for those who will get the most wickets per IPL season (he will wear a purple cap for the full game season).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also