74 1xbet sports betting website

The history of The Ashes

The Ashes is a historic and fiercely contested cricket rivalry between England and Australia. The 1xBet sports betting website also has all matches of this series too.

Its origins trace back to a sporting obituary published in the English newspaper, The Sporting Times, in 1882. The mock obituary humorously declared that English cricket had died, and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. If you want to wager on the Australian or English national sides, the sports betting website 1xBet is exactly what you need. This witty remark by journalist Reginald Brooks led to the birth of one of the most iconic and enduring rivalries in the world of sports.

The first editions

The first Ashes series took place later in 1882-1883 when England toured Australia. The English team, led by Ivo Bligh, played a series of matches against Australia, captained by Billy Murdoch. The line bet online on is also available for wagering on modern matches of those two squads too.

The term “Ashes” became official after England lost the Test match at The Oval in London, and a small urn, believed to contain the ashes of a cricket ball, was presented to Bligh. However, the actual urn has never been a formal trophy; instead, the series itself holds immense prestige. The online line bet on 1xBet can also be used to wager on who is likely to win the series too.

Turning into a fierce rivalry

The Ashes rivalry quickly gained momentum and captivated cricket enthusiasts on both sides of the world. The matches between England and Australia became intense battles, marked by passionate players, close finishes, and unforgettable performances. Make now a bet cricket easy on 1xBet, and enjoy the unlimited chances offered by this platform.

Of course, there have been plenty of legendary players associated to this series, such as:

  • Ian Botham;
  • Don Bradman;
  • and Len Hutton.

Throughout the years, the Ashes series has seen its fair share of drama and legendary moments. Notable instances include the “Bodyline” series in 1932-1933, where England employed controversial tactics to combat Bradman’s dominance. This even led to diplomatic tensions between the two countries.

The modern Ashes series consists of five Test matches, and the team that wins the series takes home the symbolic Ashes urn. However, the urn itself remains at the MCC Museum at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London. While the urn is not the official trophy, it remains a cherished symbol of cricketing history.  An easy cricket bet on 1xBet is just a few clicks away, and they can be made on the most important cricket series from all across the world.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also